365 Days Ago – 1:36 p.m. –How is it possible that this much time has passed?

Three hundred and sixty five days

I have lived with your death.

I have seen your face appear

In a burst of sunshine, in a cloud of rain.

I have heard your voice call out

In a gentle breeze, in a howling wind.

I have felt your mind’s energy come through

The moving air, the night’s despair.

Your music called to me.

Your  eyes looked out intensely in a thought.

Your eyes smile down in knowledge of a truth.

I felt your presence all around – I’d start to laugh

But then I would look and you were gone.

A vision disappeared in space and time

Leaving me alone to face the emptiness,

Leaving me alone to face reality

That you are dead and I am alive.

And what was once will never be again.

Three hundred and sixty five days

I have lived with your death.

A cycle’s coming to an end as I emerge to face the light.

You were one of my greatest joys

That joy contained my greatest sorrow;

The philosophers wrote words about it

The poets wrote poems about it.

I thought I understood what they all meant

All this talk of joy and sorrow,

Light and shade, highs and lows,

Just words inside my head.

Three hundred and sixty five days gone by,

My heart has learned the lesson through its pain.

My head now comprehends

And there are now scars

But how the love of life remains.

Three hundred and sixty five days

I have lived with your death.

Now I am learning to live

With your life

Inside of mine.

Leave a Reply

